The Friendly Forum For All Tropical Fishkeeping and Aquarium Chat

HomeWELCOME TO TROPGalleryFAQSearchRegisterLog in

Share | 

a little confused and in need of some advice please :)

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
dompsta

Number of posts : 3
Registration date : 2010-08-04

PostSubject: a little confused and in need of some advice please :)   Wed Aug 04, 2010 2:46 am

hi there. first of all let me say hi to everyone Smile

this is my first post and first time trying to set up a freshwater tank so am a complete novice Smile

after doing lots of research on the net i have decided to do a fishless cycle on my new tank. its a 90l tank with a 100w heater and filter. it has a few ornaments in there and some plastic plants etc.

after reading on the net about setting up the cycle and checking for ammonia and nitite levels etc i thought i pretty much had it sorted in my head on what i was supposed to do so i went to the local fish store and bought a nutrafin mini test kit and some nutrafin cycle. after reading the instructions that came with the mini test kit, its left me a little confused. on many sites i have read that i need to get the ammonia levels to 5ppm but the test kit doest give me these test measurements. instead it gives me the measurements in 0-7.3 mg/l so dont really know what im looking for when i test. also i read that i had to add ammonia to get the cycle going but the guy at the store has given me this nutrafin cycle. is using this the same as using ammonia? really sorry for all these questions, id just rather get things completely straight in my head before i start off all the processes and try to get it right first time Smile

again sorry for the questions and any help would be greatly recieved Smile

dompsta
Back to top Go down
View user profile

PostSubject: Re: a little confused and in need of some advice please :)   Wed Aug 04, 2010 4:27 am

Hi and welcome to the forum